Montana is divided up into six regions. Libraries within those regions have formed a federation. It's a formal and informal way to network and improve library services in Montana.

Browse the Federation Notebook for additional information.

The six federations are:


Federations receive funding through the Coal Severance Tax monies that the state receives. This money is divided amongst federations using a formula that is based upon population. ARM 10.102.5102 gives the specific formula.


Map of Montana Federations